Some Civil War Leaders/Union

Abraham Lincoln (Union/Northern states)
He was the 16th President of the United States (1860)
Lincoln’s election was a signal seven states to secede from the Union.
On January 1st of 1863, he moved to free the slaves in the South by issuing the
Emancipation Proclamation. The Emancipation Proclamation stated that all
slaves of the Confederacy were from that moment “forever free.”
- Lincoln saw the
end of the Civil War, but while attending a play at Ford’s Theater in Washington, D.C., he was shot and killed by actor John Wilkes Booth.

Ulysses S. Grant (Union/Northern states)
He was the Commander-in-Chief of the Union Army in the Civil War.
He received Robert E. Lee’s surrender in the Wilmer McLean home at Appomattox Court House on April
9, 1865.
He was the 18th President of the United States (1869-1877)

President Abraham Lincoln elected into office in 1860.

After Abraham Lincoln became President of the United States in 1860, seven southern states seceded from the Union. Later, other southern states, including Virginia, seceded to form the Confederate States of America.

Abraham Lincoln was firmly opposed to the spread of slavery to other states. To preserve the Union (the United States of America), he pledged to leave slavery alone where it already existed. However, if no new “slave” states were admitted to the Union, “free” states would soon be a majority in Congress. The South would lose its political power. Some southern states talked about seceding from the Union if Lincoln was elected.

When Lincoln won the election, South Carolina decided to secede. By March of 1861, seven southern states (South Carolina, Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Texas, Louisiana) seceded to form the Confederate States of America.  Montgomery, Alabama was the
first capital city of the Confederacy. Jefferson Davis, a United States Senator from Mississippi, was made President of the Confederate States of America.

Battle of Fort Sumter
The first shots fired in the Civil War occurred at Fort Sumter in South Carolina (1861).